Post Internet

My initial interpretation of the term “post internet” was a form of media that no longer deemed the internet to be valid. That confused me, and as I continued reading I realized I was completely wrong. 

“The postinternet is a moment, a condition, a property, and a quality that encompasses and transcends new media.”

I think the reason that this needs a term beyond just the “internet” era, is because we are seeing all sorts of collaboration, remixing, and even glitching that show true influence from the internet and digital media. Whether this art is created online or offline, there is influence from digital media. That being said, all these terms for new media do confuse me a little bit. Will post internet art ever stop being a thing? 

Leave a Reply

